What I’ve learned from ten(ish) years of reading

When did you first realise that you were a bookworm? For me, it was probably when I was about eleven or twelve, when I started high school for the first time. Before that, I just assumed that because my friends all loved reading, everybody else kind of did, too. Entering into an alternate universe where people did not, in fact, love books as much as I did was quite a shock.

In the ten (or so) years since that momentous discovery, I’ve read a lot. But I’ve learned a lot, too: life lessons and just general bits of advice that I wish I’d known when I was smaller and less confident.

1. Don’t be afraid to embrace your niche 

When I was younger, I read a lot of everything, but mostly fantasy (influenced just a little bit by Harry Potter, thanks mate). Then, when I got older, I started to expand my reading boundaries, trying out the classics, thrillers, crime fiction and romance. And while that was great, I always returned to my first love, fantasy, when I wanted to read something I knew I’d actually enjoy, and felt vaguely ashamed about doing so, like I wasn’t doing reading ‘properly’.

A few years down the line, and I couldn’t give two hoots. I like fantasy, and I read a lot of fantasy. And while I still do read books that fall outside the genre, I know that I’ve basically found my niche, and I’m embracing it.

20190704_120623.jpg

Fantasy books look good everywhere

2. Don’t lend your books (if you want them to be returned)

One thing that really used to irk me in high school was when my friends asked to borrow my books. ‘I’ll give it back’, they’d say. And. They. Never. Did. Unfortunately, I was too shy to say no to them (or follow these handy rules which I created for lending to friends. Ten years too late, alas).

I will lend books to people now, but I’ll do so in the full expectation that I’ll never see the book again. For that reason, it’s generally only the proof copies that leave my shelves- and never my faves!

3. Don’t be disheartened if people don’t like the books you do

Picture the scene. You encourage a friend to read a book that you absolutely loved. They read it. You wait with bated breath, and message them what did you think?

What you get back is the virtual equivalent of shrugged shoulders. Or, worse, a little poop emoji.

The feeling is crushing. At least at first, and when I was younger, I used to take every rejection personally. Why didn’t they like the same books as me? Was my taste in reading wrong?

Sadly, that’s just life. People like different things, and if they don’t like the same thing as me, I’ll rest assured that out there, there are just as many people who do. This just makes for an interesting discussion. Poop emojis excepted, of course.

4. Be loud and proud!

What’s the fun in being a bookworm if you don’t shout about it? High school is definitely a time when you want to fit in, but the beautiful thing about the adult world (and university) is that you can find groups of people who love exactly the same thing as you do. People you can obsess about Harry Potter with, or the collected works of the Brontë sisters.

20170520_162454.jpg

…You called? Some (not so) jazzy concept art from the start of my blog.

The louder I’ve been in my love for reading, the more I’ve gotten out of it. It’s why I started a blog: and look how amazing that’s been!

Those are my rules! What do you wish you’d known when you were ten years younger? Any advice I’ve missed out? Leave a comment and let’s start a discussion 😀

11 thoughts on “What I’ve learned from ten(ish) years of reading

  1. Great post! 🙂
    I wish I had joined the bookblogging community sooner (not sure how far back it goes… more than 10 years I assume but without much social media to promote it) as I literally don’t have any ‘real life’ people to discuss books with, no one reads the same ones as I do.

    Like

  2. Stephanie

    This is a lovely post!!!

    I agree about being a loud and proud bookworm. When you’re young, you don’t necessarily want to be different or stand out, but the funny thing is, what makes you different from everyone else in high school is what winds up making you cool and interesting as an adult, so embrace those differences- your hobbies, your culture or background, your sexuality, your talents- and run with it!

    I too fell into the ‘If it’s not depressing, 800-page college-level literature, I’m not a REAL reader’ hole, and as I grew older, I realized that’s all a bunch of crap. If you’re reading, you’re a real reader, and we should all be reading what we enjoy and what makes us happy. Life’s too short to make ourselves miserable with what’s supposed to be an enjoyable hobby, so read that fantasy, those romances, those graphic novels, comic books, middle grades and YA. Read whatever you want, because there’s value in all of it.

    My biggest piece of advice- don’t be afraid to read outside of your usual genres from time to time. Challenge yourself, grow as a reader. Never fully write off a genre because you didn’t care for a title or two in it, because you just might be surprised at what you find yourself loving. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sam Sattler

    Ten years ago I was already an old man…but about 13 years ago I started book-blogging via Book Chase, and I really wish I had started even earlier. I find that summarizing my thoughts about a book locks in details that I would never otherwise remember about what I’ve read. And I’ve met some really great people over the years, some of them becoming really good friends of mine.

    Enjoy reading; that’s what it’s all about.

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Saturday Miscellany—8/17/2019 | The Irresponsible Reader

  5. Wow, you’ve read so much!

    I used to read a lot when I was younger, especially Fantasy, I was really into Harry Potter, His Dark Materials series and Anita Blake but now I find real life is scarier than fantasy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment