The March TBR: what’s ahead?

Perhaps because of the unseasonably warm weather, it feels like it’s been March for quite a while, which made me panic a little bit yesterday when I was taking stock of the books I’ve still got to read (spoiler alert: a lot. When is it not?).

The general consensus is that I need to get a shift on with this month’s reading. Fantastic February didn’t really go to plan, so the list of books that I’ve promised to read is getting ever longer- not even counting Netgalley. Add to that some impulse buys from the Kindle store, and… well, I need to get cracking!

So, what’s ahead for this month?

The Netgalley List

Ah, the joys of the Netgalley list! For once, I’ve managed to clamp down on my impulse requests, so I have fewer books to read than I thought. Excellent!

Those books are:

  • We Must Be Brave, by Frances Liardetthis looks like a book that’s been hard-wired to my tear ducts. Telling the story of one village, Upton, over the course of seventy years, it’s all about the relationship between Ellen and Pamela, the refugee that she takes under her wing- and whom she has to give away at the end of the war.
  • The Wych Elm, by Tana Frenchthis looks creeeepy. I picked it because of the title, but the rest of the book certainly looks like it’s going to deliver! A suspense, a thriller, a murder mystery… The Wych Elm looks like all of these packed into one, and I’m so excited to start it!
  • Vivatera, by Candace J. Thomasah, my light-hearted fantasy novel. The cover for this book is gorgeous, rather like the one for Caraval, but the story looks considerably different: think foundlings, forbidden magic and stones containing elemental magic.
  • Never-Contented Things, by Sarah Porterthis looks to be just the kind of book to fill the space left by Holly Black! The synopsis: dark faeries kidnap two foster-siblings. Sounds intriguing…

The ‘For Fun’ list

  • Tangerine, by Christine Manganit was when a friend I was chatting to asked whether I’d read Tangerine last week- and I’d never heard of it- that I started to wonder. A book blogger, not having read what’s packing every bookshelf at Waterstones? Shame on me! It’s being billed as The Girl on the Train meets The Talented Mr. Ripley… but in Morocco! Excuse me while I book my flight…
  • Winterglass, by Benjanun Sriduangkaewthis is being billed as a queer, sci-fantasy take on the fairy tale of the Snow Queen. So, it was certainly interesting enough for me to buy a copy for my Kindle! I have absolutely no idea what to expect from Winterglass, so it will definitely be interesting to see where it goes…

The Bonus list

Lord of Secrets

  • Lord of Secrets, by Breanna Teintze: mages, magic and some dark fantasy. What’s not to like? This type of book is my kryptonite, so I’m super excited to get started on it, and not just because I cheekily emailed Jo Fletcher books and asked for a copy…

 

So, that’s my list. What are you reading this March? Drop me a comment and let’s chat! 🙂

One thought on “The March TBR: what’s ahead?

Leave a comment